Colored Sand Container


I am trying to find creative ways to use up the remaining 7 pounds of colored sand that I have. I bought eight pounds on the internet for 85 cents a pound, for a total of twenty dollars when shipping and handling were included. Not too expensive given I should be able to get several projects out of it, but I am being challenged on creating ideas to use it.
colored sand jar
The benefit of the sand is that it adds weight. I am thinking about things I have around the house that would benefit from some added weight. Not a problem I have personally, so covering myself in a tattoo of colored sand did not make sense. Then it occurred to me, I have a jade plant that refuses to stand up in its pot and is constantly tipping over. I thought a heavier planter might help, hence the following project. However, not only could it be used for a planter, but the weight also lends itself to being used outdoors on a summer picnic table as a vase, or even to hold forks or knives for that family picnic. Use green and red sand, or fall colors, and it could be used for one of the many upcoming holiday dinners. With the right containers, it could also be used for that top heavy orchid, that when it is not flowering, looks pretty bland.

Supplies
2 clear containers – one that sleeves the other
(I used two clear plastic peanut butter jars)
Saw                 Colored sand                  Plaster of paris
Water               Spoon                             Glue gun
Glue                 Bamboo skewer              Jar to mix plastersleevedjars

Directions

  1. Find two containers, one which is small enough to fit inside the larger one, but still big enough for your purposes.
  2. If the jars are not the same height when the smaller one is inside the bigger one, cut so that they are the same height. I used a band saw which made a nice even cut.
  3. Remove the labels, and using the glue gun, apply glue to the bottom of the smaller jar and fit it inside the bigger jar.
  4. Place your jar on a piece of paper. The paper helps by being able to add the sand back to your bag, should it spill.
  5. Add layers of sand with your spoon, and using the bamboo skewer, poke the sand creating valleys and hills. On my jar, I should have poked the sand between the bottom lavender and turquoise layer, as I don’t like the straight line that I have. Keep adding layers and poking until you are half an inch from the top.
  6. The top half inch, no less or the plaster will be too thin and will be likely to crack, add plaster of paris. You want to mix the plaster according to the package directions, and carefully spoon it on top of your sand layers.  Wipe off any spilled plaster while it is still wet, as it is hard to remove once it dries.IMG_2488

Leave a Reply

